As time goes by

With the work of the Duff Young Foundation at a brief pause, I’ve decided to abjure a regular paycheck and freelance full time. I’ll continue to write for the Foundation, but devote most of my time to my own stories. Here’s my most recent blog post from Duff Does Africa describing the situation:

As time goes by

September 29, 2008

Saturday has passed, and I remain at my computer in my Brooklyn apartment. A crisp fall breeze has blown out the city’s muggy summer stench and soon colored leaves will litter my back porch. And I will be here to enjoy the fall weather longer than I expected.

America’s current financial malaise has taken its toll on everyone, and it’s no surprise that a businessman like Duff has found himself with extra work. Indeed, Duff is struggling under the weight of a load of unforeseen business responsibilities, and they’ve left him without the time and energy to go to Liberia and carry out the plan.

Of course it would have been nice if we could have anticipated these setbacks a little earlier. Fred and I spent the weekend sending emails to all the connections we planned to meet when we hit the ground, explaining and apologizing for the delay. And then there’s the explanations I need to make to my friends after a rather debauched going away party…

That said, Duff is making the right decision. He has serious responsibilities here, and of course the success of the Foundation is contingent on the success of Duff’s businesses. To barrel ahead with our plan in Africa now would be an unnecessary risk. Our efforts would be compromised without Duff’s full energy, and we’d be wary of making any promises that we weren’t sure we could keep.

Whether our adventure is on hold for a few weeks or months remains to be seen. Though I’ve been advocating going to Liberia since day one, I believe that restraint is crucial now. The world will always welcome Duff. A little time may just have to go by before he achieves his goals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

